Calculations about Roshar

kenod

Here are a couple of calculations I did about Roshar. The necessary variables (gravitational constant, radius) are from the AU essay.
DISCLAIMER: I have little experience with astronomy, and these calculations may be wrong. Please submit any corrections, to improve the data.

Roshar's mass:
Gravitational constant = 70% of earth
Radius = 90% of earth
Mr = mass Roshar
m*g=(G*Mr*m)/r^2
m*g*r^2=G*Mr*m
g*r^2=G*Mr
Mr=(g*r^2)/G
Mr=((9.81*0.7)*(6.371*10^6*0.9)^2)/(6.673*10^-11)
Mr=(6.867*3.288*10^13)/(6.673*10^-11)
Mr=(2.258*10^14)/(6.673*10^-11)
Mr=3.383*10^24 kg

To calculate Roshar's orbit, and the mass of the sun I had to do something different. As I couldn't find any data on it on the internet I used the AU starmap. Here, the color of the sun is lighter than that of our sun, making it seem that it is of a higher spectral class (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stellar_classification#Harvard_spectral_classification). I then took the spectral classes above that of the sun (F till O) and created a tool that takes the highest and lowest luminosity, and then uses that to calculate the habitable zones. I then calculate what the mass of the star need to be to make Roshar have its period of 1.1 years and still fall in the habitable zone. the program repeats this till the mass of the star is also within the right class. The results are as followed:

Spoiler

Initiation values for F class star

Results:

Initiation values for A class star:

Results:

B and O class stars also can't find a solutions.

If you want to use the tool yourself, I attached the python file here: stellar_mass.py.
This shows that Roshar's sun would probably have a mass of around 1.4 solar masses. this would mean that the semi-major axis of Roshar is:
r=((G*M*T^2)/(4*pi^2))^(1/3)
r=(((6.673*10^-11)*(2.8*10^30)*(3.15*10^7)^2)/(4*pi^2))^(1/3)
r=((1.85*10^35)/(4*pi^2))^(1/3)
r=(4.69*10^33)^(1/3)
r=1.67*10^11 meter
r=1.12 au (astronomical unit, earth's distance from the sun)