Ym (possible spoilers?)

King Krooked

So I've been kicking around here and lurking for a few months and I think that I've noticed something. None of the other proto-Radiants were killed in their interludes. And since we learned that Stormlight can heal a Shardblade wound from Kaladin, I fully believe that Ym isn't dead. It makes sense to me that he is still alive.

It's Book Two of the Stormlight Archive so there's every possibility that Ym might still be alive and kicking in the further books, but just to put it out there, I always had this belief that only one of each of the Knight Orders would be reappearing in the books. This idea of mine has no explicitly factual basis since I'm only drawing this conclusion out from Pattern and Syl saying that they were the only one's of their kind that disobeyed and went looking for potential surgebinders.

Ym was supposed to be the chosen Truthwatcher of this generation's surgebinders, but since he died I guess that role was relegated to Renarin.

At first I kind of thought that we'd see more of Ym again.  I figured with his spren begging for Stormlight at the last moment he might be pulling a Jasnah -- disappearing and leaving a body in his wake.  After finishing the book, though, I changed my mind and decided the main purpose of that interlude was to imply that Radiants are sprouting up all over Roshar, to introduce Darkness, and to show that proto-Radiants are far from immortal.  By showing one sympathetic character bite the dust, Brandon ratchets up the tension regarding the safety of the other characters.

Yeah I agree with galendo, I think it was to show that proto-Radiants are appearing in some numbers and that they re being hunted by a monster who is sometimes successful. Just because other assassination attempts have failed, doesn't make proto-Rads immortal, or the Ghostbloods or other groups hunting them incompetent (which they would look like if they didn't kill at least one of them).