The Shattering of a Shard

SconeScout

Okay, so I'm a complete noob when it comes to Cosmere theories and all, but reading Sanderson just makes me crazy. So shoot me down anytime people :)

The theory is simple but hard to explain due to the lack of evidence. I've been lurking around a lot of other threads and pretty much connected some dots. Each Shardworld has a specific number of people that exhibit powers/control above average for their respective form of Investiture. These powers in no way exemplifies the Intent of their Shard, but somehow the choosing or Initiation process do. For now let's call these people as a whole as Champions--for lack of a better term. A lot of explaining and logical leaps, I know. The actual theory though, is how Odium 'kills' other Shards. They may seem unrelated at first glance but what if it's as simple as turning or making these Champions change? It's a stretch but it somehow fits with the Catacendre in Roshar, AND also feels right up Rayse's alley. Chaos and all that. What if, in some way, "Odium reigns" means "Chaos has corrupted that in which we believe in"? Thoughts?

This reminds me of ROSHtafARian's old theory about Splintering Shards by using their Investiture against their Intent. The evidence we find on Roshar appears to point that way, but I don't know if we have any new evidence since that theory was first proposed except perhaps for the WoR scenes showing just how messed up some of the Heralds have become after Aharietiam.

"Chaos has corrupted that in which we believe in"

Hey! What has Eric ever done to you to deserve that? :P

Edited by skaa

I think the question everyone out to make a shattering theory should ask themselves is "Could this have happened to Adonalsium". We know that he was shattered in the same way Odium shatters Shard so I don't think intent had much to do with it, since Adonalsium had over a dozen.