Old to the books, new to the shard.

DrPhysics

I'm new to the online community, but old to the fandom. I first heard about Brandon when a college roommate loaned me their copy of Elantris, selling it to me based on our shared love of Wheel of Time and telling me it was by this cool new author who had another book "mist something" coming out later that year.

I'm a physics professor by profession and love applying real-world physics to the Comsere any chance that I get.

6 minutes ago, DrPhysics said:

I'm new to the online community, but old to the fandom. I first heard about Brandon when a college roommate loaned me their copy of Elantris, selling it to me based on our shared love of Wheel of Time and telling me it was by this cool new author who had another book "mist something" coming out later that year.

I'm a physics professor by profession and love applying real-world physics to the Comsere any chance that I get.

Welcome to the Shard! I also started with Elantris, read many of the books as they were released and only joined the Shard a couple of years ago. Just as a heads up, you'll find that there a fair number of people on the Shard who not infrequently ask really detailed physics related questions, so... let us know when we should do the homework ourselves or when you're fine explaining what's going on. Our physics questions have ranged everywhere across all the various books, and I for one will have no problem whatsoever if you explain what we're getting wrong. What books have you read so far?

I'll put this in a spoiler box and have it cover all released books, but off the top of my head we've had the following physics questions while I've been here:

Spoiler
  • Approximate durability of Shardplate
  • 3D modeling of Lumar's moons back before we knew exactly how they lined up over the planet with some pretty cool designs
  • Theories on how Scadrian FTL will work and the current idea that it will be based on an Alcubierre drive using speed bubbles