Cosmere E=mc^2

Elsecaller_17.5

First, this isn't going to make much sense unless your caught up with the The Lost Metal Release chapters including today's. Second, I am a amateur physicist at best; I've completed a (singular) college physics class.

So Wax just invented nuclear bombs. Fun. But good old E=mc2 isn't going to quite do that for us with investiture in the mix. Harmony has confirmed that we need to get an I in there somewhere. To my mind the I has to modify the m. c2 is a constant and isn't going to be affected, energy is the output. The two simplest results would be

E = MI c2

or

E = MI c2

I could also see E = MsubI C2 allowing for a far more complicated relationship between M and I.

People who are smarter than me please tear this to pieces. I've put this in the cosmere spoiler area in case you want to involve RoW physics somehow.

Edited by Elsecaller_17.5

1 minute ago, offer said:

There is both the regular matter-energy equivalent and another investiture-energy equivalence.

So the equation should be E = Mc^2 = I *k 

For some constant k.

But what about invested matter. It seems that invested matter has more fundamental energy. Could it just be E = Mc^2+I and we need a way to quantity I?

25 minutes ago, Elsecaller_17.5 said:

But what about invested matter. It seems that invested matter has more fundamental energy. Could it just be E = Mc^2+I and we need a way to quantity I?

Yes, exactly.

I think that it is like a spring that has more energy when it is compressed - there is still the Mc^2 term, but there is aditional term for the potential energy.

1 hour ago, Elsecaller_17.5 said:

First, this isn't going to make much sense unless your caught up with the The Lost Metal Release chapters including today's. Second, I am a amateur physicist at best; I've completed a (singular) college physics class.