Reading Excuses_8/12/22_ShatteredSmooth_An Errand of Utmost Importance, About 2433 Words

shatteredsmooth

Hi All,

I'm back from a bit of a hiatus with a short story. This is an early draft, and I'm open to whatever feedback you have. 

However, I do have some specific questions as well. 

I wrote this intending for it to be complete at its current length but I'm worried it feels more like an opening than a complete story. What do you think? Does it feel complete? If not, what is missing? What would it need to feel more like a complete story?

Thanks!

Ok so I'm new at this, but I'll do my best.

I really enjoyed this, you managed to get a lot of detail and information about the character in a small space, and I really enjoyed that.  I agree that it feels more like an opening than a complete story. The ending was a bit abrupt and I'm not completely sure how you'd change it to make it feel more complete, but it might help to add a little bit more to the ending to help with how abruptly the story ended.

On line seven it says "Her father was pushing her more and more marry." I'm pretty sure this is a typo and you meant to say "Her father was pushing her more and more to marry."

On page two, line thirteen it says "A visit that would go more quicker if he was out." Saying "A visit that would go more quickly if he was out." or "A visit that would go quicker if he was out." Would make more sense.

On page four, line eleven it says "What if the people are protesting tomorrow to." Too would be the correct word to use here.

On page five, about halfway through line seven it says "Then she's never have to report she ever did." She's should be changed to She'd.

On page six, line twelve it says "A shoe loosed her grip causing her to careen." I don't completely understand what you're trying to say here. Maybe you could specify how she careens a little more.