First paragraph of a new story i'm working on

The Sibling

The night was pitch black, the stars blocked out by an ominous cloud. Rain poured down in a thin drizzle, mist swirling through the skies. Footsteps. Hoofbeats. The sounds of rain and the sounds of war pooled together into a steady drumbeat. Thump. Clang. Smash. The front line of the army shifted uncomfortably, hands gripping shoddy spears and rusty swords. A woman at the very front winced as the second army began pouring over the hill on the horizon. The man next to her involuntarily took a step back. She grabbed his arm comfortingly.

“Steady!” She whispered

• 2 weeks later...

I'm a newish writer, but I can try to suggest a few things that I would fix (though my style may be different). "The night was pitch black, the stars blocked out by an ominous cloud." sounds pretty good, but it seems like something every writer would write. Maybe something like, "Darkness pulsed as a cloud blocked starlight." Sounds cool. But so does the first one. I dunno. I really like this though. Also, when the women winces, maybe you could give more clue to her thoughts as to why. Maybe you want it written that way, but you could describe the coming army shortly, giving them a bit more dangerous feel. "the second army began pouring over the hill, shining despite the darkness. Hopefully this helps. If you want to keep it how you have it, it still sounds cool. 

On 9/3/2022 at 11:44 PM, Gregorio said: