Skyward first impressions

Mason Wheeler

I'm about halfway through the story right now, (chapter 29,) and here's what I think so far:

• Fun main character!  Spensa is weird but her weirdness actually makes sense from the perspective of her POV, much like Wayne.
  • Why was Spensa surprised to learn that Cobb was the one who shot her father down?  It says in the prologue that he was shot down by his own flight in retribution for breaking and fleeing, which really narrows it down to a few candidates, and with the way he behaves towards her, it seemed pretty obvious from the start that he felt guilty and was trying to atone for something in his past, with "being the one to shoot him down" the most likely candidate.
  • I love the AI.  I'm a computer programmer, and Brandon's done a pretty good job of taking the bizarre ways a program with corrupted data can behave (while having no idea anything is wrong because its code is still operating exactly as designed) and mapping it onto a sentient being.
  • I'm really liking the character of Jerkface.  He was set up as... well... a real jerkface, by casting him in a specific character archetype, (OK, let's just say it; he was basically introduced as this book's Draco Malfoy,) but every time we get a closer look at him we see those expectations subverted.  It almost feels like he's being subtly set up as a potential love interest for Spin eventually.  (Possible love triangle with Rig?  Not sure, but I could see it happening.)
  • Cytonic hyperdrive! :D:D:D
  • Doomslug is not, as some people on here were expecting, the ship's AI.  So then what is it and why is it so important in those first few chapters? (And why has it fallen off the radar ever since then?)
  • On Writing Excuses, Brandon & co talk a lot about "promises," the idea that when you set up certain questions or expectations at the start of a story, they need to pay off by the end of the story.  Here's what I feel we've been promised: