Wondering about the future of Fantasy

Is technological progression like we see in the Cosmere a one off or minor thing or is it something that most authors will have to do going forward?  

14 members have voted

1. 1. Is technological progression like we see in the Cosmere a one off or minor thing or is it something that most authors will have to do going forward?

• Yes moving forward
    • No one time thing

I Hope this is the right place to put it, sorry mods if it isn't. But as an aspiring writer I thought it would be good to know reader opinion on a topic that I have some discomfort with. I personally feel that without swords Fantasy losses something Wax and Wayne honestly surprised me with how good it was, I thought I would have to pull myself through it, I mean wizards with guns sounds weird, (admitandly not as weird as eating metal, but no-fantasy at least). I took a poll not too long ago on how people felt about the Cosmeres advancing technology and mostly got a result of: 'yes I want this.' So as I want to write a massive multi-realm style fantasy not unlike the cosmere is this be something I should be doing?

To clarify I have plans to handle the advancing tech but is fusing magic and tech something I have to do?

Edited by Frustration

Multi-realm stuff like the Cosmere has been around for a bit; maybe not the vast scale of planets, but certainly shared characters, countries, and continents. The hidden epic aspect is new though!