Weekly Shard Community Book Review

Welcome to the first weekly book review by Sharders, for Sharders! Come here to read critiques and discuss what everyone's reading this week. (To write your own review and contribute to this great community, Sign up here!) Applause goes to The Young Bard for organizing this group.

To get the ball rolling, I'll share my review of The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa, originally written a few years ago after I read the book the second time.

10215349.jpg

Allison Sekemoto lives in a future where the Red Lung virus has wiped out most of society as we know it. In her hometown of New Covington (which as a Cincinnati resident I suspect is actually Covington, Kentucky) vampires control virtually everything. As an Unregistered resident of the Fringe, the outer portion of the city, Allison lives a tough life, scavenging and stealing to keep herself fed but free of the compulsory bloodlettings Registered citizens must endure. One especially hungry day she ventures outside the city into the Ruins to look for food. She is attacked and mauled by a pack of rabids, vicious, mindless creatures infected with the virus. Kanin, a vampire, finds her and offers to save her life by turning her. Though Allison hates vampires, she wants to live badly enough that she accepts. Kanin teaches her how to survive as a vampire, and a lot of the book deals with Allison's struggle to accept what she has become.