Szeth's Truth

EmagSamurai

I'm still learning my way around here, so I apologize if this has been considered before.

Is it possible that Szeth is truthless as a result of a failed bond with the same type of spren that Shallan bonded with? I'm wondering if the Shin are aware of the symbolheads, and their stone shamans bond with them in some sort of public ceremony or ritual. Perhaps Szeth was intended to do this, but when asked for his truth to complete the bond, he lied?

I don't know if a failed bond preclude him from seeing the symbolheads any longer, as he doesn't mention them.

This might be of use to this discussion.

T.T

What did Szeth do to become a Truthless, and is there anything else involved in being a Truthless that we haven't seen?"

Brandon Sanderson

Szeth was perceived as betraying his people in a fundamental way, and you will learn more about that when his book comes along.

Personally, I don't think it has to do with a failed bond with a Cryptic.

I'm glad to have at least contributed something that hasn't come up in the last week or two  :D

This might be of use to this discussion.

Personally, I don't think it has to do with a failed bond with a Cryptic.

Thanks for the link! My instinct is that Szeth's truthless status is something different as well, but this jumped out at me in my reading. The more I thought about it, the more it seemed to offer a fitting solution where I had nothing else.

I can certainly see where a failed bond due to a public untruth could be seen as a betrayel to the Shin. Their dealings with Vstim and Rysn (Interlude-4 RYSN) indicate they place a high priority on being truthful with others. In fact, to me it seemed the whole point of that chapter was to point out how much emphasis they place on honesty. 

There are apparently neither spren nor highstorms in Shinovar.  I assume that spren are somehow dependent on stormlight.  This theory would need to account for Cryptics coexisting with Szeth somehow.