The Greatest Idea in the History of Ideas!

I am a grad student. 

As such, I do a lot of reading. The books I read are….shall we say, less than interesting. 

41BFpA0pgHL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-stic

51p4jEnDTuL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

I do my best to read them. I do my best to pay attention. Yet every time I get more than a few pages in, I find myself drawn, as if by a magnet, to more interesting works. 

51E%2B7V-PDyL.jpg

Let's face it: Brandon Sanderson's works are addictive. Once they get going, it's nearly impossible to put one of his books down. And this is a problem for a student who just wants to finish her reading and pass her summer class. 

So. I have an idea. It's brilliant. It's crazy. And it's totally going to work. 

We get Brandon Sanderson to write our textbooks. 

I don't know how we'd do it. It'd involve a lot of fan letters, a lot of asking nicely, and probably a good deal of whining. But once he buckled down and did it—well, we'd have the perfect solution to grad school! A textbook that is nigh-impossible to put down—and a host of classes that are nigh-impossible to fail. 

There is no possible way this can't work, guys. 

It's foolproof. 

I just thought about Brandon teaching particle physics and using the various magic systems of the cosmere to clarify different aspects... and then I realize how incredible backwards the whole thing is.

I wish someone would honestly try this approach to writing textbooks. It's not that they CAN'T be interesting and engaging, but most authors aren't willing to spend that kind of effort.

Can you imagine how more successful student would be if they WANTED to read their textbooks? We just need to tell Brandon it's for the good of the children! :P

Edited by Terisen