2022/06/27 - Warmacky - Trinity's Will

Warmacky

Hey Everyone,

Thanks for taking the time to read this and giving me a forum to get feedback!  You are all awesome.

This is a first draft of chapter one for a series I have been outlining in detail for several months.  I'm open to any criticisms you want to give in any format that is convenient for you.  For my general beta readers I've had success using Mary Robinette Kowal's 4 question structure:

• What is boring?
  • What is confusing?
  • What did you not believe?
  • What was cool?

So if that structure appeals to you, feel free to use it.

Given that this is chapter one, I'm also interested in what "promises" (to use the Writing Excuses terminology) you take away from this chapter that you would expect to be fulfilled by the end.

I want to find the time this year to keep adding new chapters to this book.  Getting feedback motivates me to keep going and keeps me accountable so thank you again!

Hello! :)

I think this is your first sub, so congrats!

So, disclaimer: I've been MIA for a while because I've had intense brain fog and haven't felt like I was able to put 100% into my critiques (and I still don't feel like I'm able to) but its been so dead lately that I feel like a mediocre critique is better than no critique, right?! anyway, Im very rusty so take everything I say with a grain of salt because im going to spew a lot of nonsense :D

pg 1

-very intense opening paragraph! The writing itself is done very well. I'm hooked so far

pg 2

-L must have some trauma to think she’ll get yelled at for screaming in a fire

-“Heart rate slowly falling to a terrified gallop” wouldn't her heart rate quicken rather than “slowly fall?” like quicken (or something) into a gallop? Slowly fall and gallop seem to be contradicting each other, imo.