10/19/20 - SniperFrog - The Trials -Chapter One (L,S)

sniperfrog

Hey guys. This is my first time and I am excited and nervous all at once. This is the first chapter of my story. I look forward to your feedback. Maps will be coming later once I am able to get them finished up.

This has been something I have worked on the worldbuilding for a long time. This first chapter took me about 6 months to get around to completing. Hopefully having fresh eyes on it will push me to get more finished. I am worried about tone and interactions between characters. I am not very good at dialogue and I want to make sure it feels natural. 

Thanks All. You are all awesome. I mean it.

Before I begin, I am very excited to read your first installment on the forum! Ok, now for reading

First paragraph: Already like the tone, good start.

lots of short sentences though, might want to compound a couple for sentence variety. 

“his skin lying on the ground…” this is small, but maybe consider changing it to “the skin”? Could be just me, but saying “his skin” makes me think of, well, his skin.

Pg 2 “but going to M didn’t sound so bad” The way this is framed right after talking about religion makes it seem like M is an afterlife, but I’m guessing it isn’t? It’s a country right?

Pg 4: I like the description of the siblings

Pg 4 “gave a spit of her own” lots of spitting. And the way this is worded makes it seem like she’s spitting directly onto the other spit, which just seems a bit…odd to me.

Pg 5 “Lechery” Ah, yes, let’s talk about LGBTQ representation.