Did people on Sel come from Roshar?

anders12

Hi all,

This is my first time joining a site like this, but there is just too much going on in Brandon's series to not explode one's brain.  

Anyways, I have been rereading Elantris since I finished Words of Radiance, and I have been wondering if certain cultures/religions on Sel descended from Roshar. Also, I may have a few facts wrong, so please let me know if I remembered something incorrectly from Roshar's or Sel's history. Here are my thoughts:

The Vorin Religion tried to take over the world (in essence).  The Derethi religion is currently trying to.  Vorin priests are called "ardents", while Derethi priests are called "arteths".  Further, in Roshar it seems that several names have the "th" phoneme, which seems prominent with the Derethi.

Vorinism worships Jezerezeh'Elin.  Jezrien was a Herald of Honor, and later became the Stormfather, who seems to be in charge of the spren somehow (or at least the honorspren and windspren).  In Sel, there is the Jesker religion.  Jesker was believed to be the "overspirit", and the jesker religion involved spirits in general and being in harmony with nature.  Furthermore, "Sel" and "Syl" are almost identical.

So I have wondered if when the Heirocracy was ending, certain groups of Vorin followers traveled to Sel, and over time words such as "ardent", Jezrien or Jezerezeh, and Syl (which I believe was chosen for a reason, not just because Syl liked it) devolved into arteth, Jezker, and Sel.  The Derethi religion would have descended from the Vorins who thought that the church should rule absolutely. 

I realize that some of these points are thinner than others, but I would be interested in hearing anyone's thoughts.  Thanks!