During a re-read. The saved Bridgeman.

snote

The first person Kaladin saves, I think, after he starts rescuing wounded bridgemen. Has the same description as Taln does at the end of WoK. Dark Skinned, without a hint of an accent. Strong but not at all Taln like in what he says. So, maybe this is where our mysterious snatched body comes from, who was later Willshaped or some such into thinking he's a Herald of the Almighty.

We don't know his previous history. So he might have been trained to look imposing and catch darts from the air. Which is why his body does it instinctively. I just find it odd that a man who fits the description is found by Kaladin and he notices these same traits at all. It's the whole, "As a filmmaker, I'm going to zoom in on this person's face. right? But why would I do that? Is this just for some odd context or is this going to be important later? Is it important now but you won't know until after other information is revealed?" It's basically game theory in action. I know that you know, that I know that you know. That we BOTH know.. I farted... but does SHE know? *As you discreetly look over, she forces eye contact with you while shaking her head in the affirmative and holding her nose*

I don't remember his name, but that guy remained with the bridge since then. he was in ptsd during all the first book, not sure if he recovered in the second. anyway, we know his wereabouts and he is not one of the heralds

While the part about his whereabouts being known is a knock against this theory (will have to check), him not being a herald is irrelevant when "Taln" is not a confirmed herald either.

I don't remember his name, but that guy remained with the bridge since then. he was in ptsd during all the first book, not sure if he recovered in the second. anyway, we know his wereabouts and he is not one of the heralds