Mistborn Allomantic Abilities - How do they look visually?

sostington

Hello! Brand new here. Finished Mistborn, WOA, and on HOA. I'm keeping track of all the Allomantic battles that happen because I'm a storyboard artist and want to make fan art storyboards of the fight scenes. 

When a character pushes on a coin for example, should there be any indication visually that they are burning metal? Like glowing, etc. I've been trying to find any sort of reference to this and have come up short.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

I don’t believe that there’s any visible indication that someone is burning metals. For stuff like ironpulling and steelpushing, the blue lines extending out from the allomancer that only they can see could be a potential visual representation that they are burning iron/steel.

Welcome to the Shard

1 hour ago, sostington said:

Hello! Brand new here. Finished Mistborn, WOA, and on HOA. I'm keeping track of all the Allomantic battles that happen because I'm a storyboard artist and want to make fan art storyboards of the fight scenes. 

When a character pushes on a coin for example, should there be any indication visually that they are burning metal? Like glowing, etc. I've been trying to find any sort of reference to this and have come up short.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Brandon has discussed possibilities on how this could be done in a visual medium. WoB:

Spoiler

Questioner

Now that you’re writing the Mistborn screenplay, what would be your ideal way to show emotional or non-physical Allomancy on the screen?

Brandon Sanderson

I’m playing with a lot of different things. The screenplay right now, we’re using blue as a signifier that Allomancy’s being used. The blue lines work pretty well. Mostly, you’re gonna see a very faint blue line, and you’re gonna see the object that the person is pushing or pulling on flashing blue. That is your indication.