Did Hoid Shatter Adonalsium? Fan theory

jjreeder

Whilst pondering who Hoid could be, and what his place in the Cosmere might be, other than being a wanderer and researcher, I came upon an interesting thought that I'm sure has been thought of before, but I wanted to see what everyone else thinks about it.

Did Hoid Shatter Adonalsium?

Hoid always has been a secretive fellow, popping up at seemingly random moments in the Cosmere, and somehow knowledgeable of facts that even the people of the same world do not know. He was even said to have been offered a Shard after the Shattering. But could he be the villain of the Cosmere, the one no one saw coming, yet was in opposition to and powerful enough to destroy Adonalsium. It sounds ridiculous at first glance, but then, you never can tell with Hoid.

Here are my thoughts on the matter...

1. Hoid has been seen gaining one or more spren on Roshar, which could possibly mean he is trying to gain power.

2. He is involved with not just one or two worlds, as some Worldhoppers are, but is involved in pretty much EVERY one. Could he be keeping track of the Cosmere in order to know what he was dealing with if/when he rose back to power?

3. How could he know so much about all of the magic systems, sometimes even aware of things inhabitants of the involved world don't know, and he sometimes mentions the Shards as if he knows them like friends. Is there a reason for this?

Anyhow, I just wanted to se what you guys thought, as it was an idea I'd long pondered but finally wanted to put some evidence together just to se what you guys thought. Crush my theory. PLEASE!!! I really don't want Hoid to be evil!!! ;)

38 minutes ago, jjreeder said:

1. Hoid has been seen gaining one or more spren on Roshar, which could possibly mean he is trying to gain power.

He's trying to collect Investiture of all kinds, not just powerful ones, just all of them.

39 minutes ago, jjreeder said: