Dalinar and the Nightwatcher

Anonymous

I've seen it posted places that Dalinar went to the Nightwatcher to ask for a boon and the result was that he was cursed to forget everything about his wife, including not hearing anything specific people say about her. If this has already been confirmed somewhere then I apologize. I'm new to the online community and don't know for certain what has and hasn't been discussed.

My theory is that the empty place in his mind where his wife used to be is actually his boon, rather than his curse. We know he gets one of each, and the details of the event remain vague, along with everything related to his wife. It's possible that after his wife died he was so stricken with grief that he thought it would be better not to remember anything about her at all. In this sense, maybe the loss of memories isn't the curse, but the boon, or possibly both, as with Taravangian's variable intelligence.

The problem here is that it would require Dalinar to have a different, mentally-related curse, and from the extensive POVs we've had of him, he doesn't seem to have anything else of the sort. The problem with talking about this is that literally the only time anybody talks about Dalinar's wife that we can hear is around him, which means of course that he can't hear it, and he himself can't think about her. This means that we have no idea when he went to the Nightwatcher, a bit of a problem.

If I had to guess, I'd say forgetting was his curse. His boon was related to helping Gavilar take over the highprinces, or something related to that. Sadly, it's just a guess, and only WoB can tell us at this point.

The problem with that being that he never once thinks of himself as a Knight Radiant, or even a potential one. He chooses to name Amaram the head of it, and doesn't bother joining himself or even thinking about it. If he had asked for the chance to be a KR, I imagine it'd be on his mind, especially when he starts having visions about the KR.