Aw, I was hoping to look into this during the weekend. Ohwell.

I was talking to a friend about the original translation of Navani's notebook and the Alethi script, and he brought up something I couldn't quite get an answer to - how does one go about translating something like this? In other words, how did you figure all this out?

From what I've heard, you get a count of all the characters. You figure out the likely letters based on the count. With that in mind, try to guess a word based on context, use the translated letters in other words, expand from context, etc.

Note that I have no experience in this at all.

Wow. I am truly impressed at your skills. If I had to make a bet, you just cracked Thaylen right here. It seems to me like this map would have come off the Wind's Pleasure or a similar ship. Combine that with the fact that we're not far from Thalath and I think it's pretty solid evidence. Great work! :D

If I may ask, where did you find this image online to work with?

Ah, the Thaylen script not having vowels makes a lot of sense actually. Explains why they tend to mash a bunch of consonants together. Their alphabet literally does that, so they probably don't have tons of awareness of vowel sounds. Light, that's really cool.

Also, Harakeke, I think you might be magic. Just saying.

Ah, Thaylen!  I was hoping someone would know the proper name for it!  (I'd been calling it Frostish in my head!)

Asul helpfully posted the images here: http://www.17thshard.com/forum/topic/6471-spoilers-interior-art/

If it's an issue I can blur out the picture and just leave the text.

Edited by harakeke

I just realized that this key can also be used to read Alethi glyphs. They're heavily stylized, but the basic forms are there!