Fandom is apparently good for my mental health

Hello! I recently read one of those somewhat unsubstantiated clickbait articles claiming that my shameless nerdiness and obsession with multiple fictional universes is actually good for me, and realized I had not yet plumbed the depths of the Sanderson community, so here I am. Heal me, my fellows.

In any case, greetings from Milwaukee, WI. I basically read like it's my second job (and I'm a teacher, so I read a lot for that job, too) so I can wax poetic about Sanderson's works, the Wheel of Time, Gentleman Bastards, The Farseer books, Harry Potter, Tolkien, Marvel, ASoIaF, and...probably a lot more, tbh. I read A LOT and am always looking for solid recommendations so I stop rereading a safe bet. I also shamelessly read and write fanfiction.

Lovely to be here.

Hey, welcome to the Shard, @officiumdefunctorum! Sadly, I've run out of upvotes for today, but have a free spiked delicious cookie!

Spoiler

cookie.jpg

DISCLAIMER: Side effects include, but are not limited to, hearing voices, gaining supernatural powers, having the sudden urge to kill everyone, and completely losing control over your mind and body. The Dark Alley™ claims no liability for any damage done to/by the eater of this cookie.

Also, don't worry, you're in the right place if you're an avid reader. :P

Have you read all of the Cosmere books? If so, which one should are your favorites? If not, which ones have you read?

And don't worry, you won't get too addicted to the Shard. ;)

Greetings!

I envy your students! What kind of fan fiction do you write?

(sorry I ran out of upvotes so I can't' give you one right now.. I'll return later and give you one)

Edited by Sami

Thank you for the welcome, and cookie. I'm occasionally insane enough in my own, so I'll save it for a special occasion.