Herald

1. How are Truthwatchers able to see the future, if their surges are Progression (The Surge of Growth and Healing) and Illumination (The Surge of Light, Sound, and Various Waveforms)Is it related to their spren or ideals or something else entirely (Cultivation influence maybe)?

2. It seems that Truthwatchers can predict future just based on present circumstances without considering the drastic changes that may immediately happen. Renarin Kholin predicted that everyone would die due to the clash of Everstorm and Highstorm, but Shallan is able to use the portal at the end and prevented this from happening. This might be the reason for them to be silent and secretive since being vocal about their prediction could bring about some changes which may cause the prediction to fail. Are there any holes/faults in this theory?

I'm new to 17th shard, so if there has already been a discussion on these topics, please post that thread. Thanks!

Edited by Jezerezeh

Well, how does Shallan perfectly memorize images just by blinking with only illumination and transformation? The epigraphs imply that it is a Lightweaver thing in general, not a unique case.

Surges are evidently not the only thing nahel bonds grant.

Edited by natc

Well, how does Shallan perfectly memorize images just by blinking with only illumination and transformation? The epigraphs imply that it is a Lightweaver thing in general, not a unique case.

Surges are evidently not the only thing nahel bonds grant.

But Shallan has that ability much before she has actually bonded, right? In Lightweavers case I think the members already have an artistic talent which helped them to be recruited into that order.

Quote from WoR regarding this:

These Lightweavers, by no coincidence, included many who pursude the arts; namly: writers, artists, musicians, painters, sculptors. Considering the order's general temperament, the tales of their strange and varied mnemonic abilities may have been embellished.