Reading Excuses 20150504 Godtown Chapter One

rdpulfer

This is the novel I've been working on for about two years. I'm on my fifth draft. Here's the thing: I recently read a book about landing an agent, which stressed the importance of the opening. So I freaked out and cut the opening in half. None of my beta readers liked it. This is the original opening, and I was hoping to find some ways to make it better. Thanks in advance! 

[spoilers]

Ok, I laughed out loud at Zeus hanging up on Hades. That was the point I was completely sold on the premise.

I did find myself mentally hesitating when Hades says he never liked sleeping. So, the chapter opens with him waking up? This doesn't sit right with me. Not to mention that Zeus calls at 4am, Hades describes the city being "quiet at night", and then he meets Prometheus in the "evening air" atop the grassy mound. I can't quite tell what time it is, and this also disrupts my suspension of disbelief.

I'm really curious to know what sort of Enemy could rout the combined might of every Greek god. This is an awesome hook for me, as a huge fan of mythology. Just make sure not to pull a Mass Effect with how they built up the Reapers early on ;)

Although, the thought occurs to me that if ever a deus ex machina were a reasonable plot device, it might be in this particular story.

"That's when I knew something was wrong." -- damnation, me too. This whole scene with Hades and Zeus conversing is very well done.

The revelation that Hermes was dead in the park, putting the phone conversation at the beginning into perspective, was just plain awesome.

"Do you know what's on the other side? Because I don't." -- Again, as a huge fan of mythology, this was a major "Oh sh-" moment for me. Fantastic!

"The Ennead will be here soon." -- Oh, so when Hades said "every single god", he meant: Every. Single. God. Pavlov has rung my bell, good sir.