Allomantic Symbols

Senor Feesh

Ok, so here's an image I imagine we all know by now.

Mb_table_v13-1-.jpg

I've been studying this for a little while, trying to see if there's an internal logic to the construction of the symbols themselves. Sadly, I'm not very good at things like this. Thankfully, my girlfriend is better. She noticed immediately that the Pushing metals all have the dot on the inside of the symbols, whilst the Pulling metals are all outside.

Can anyone see any common traits shared by other groupings? Specifically I guess I'm trying to see if all Internal/External metals share a common trait, and each grouping of 4 (Physical, Mental etc.) Would be really cool to be able to look at a symbol (without having to memorise them all first) and be able to say 'That's the Internal Mental Pulling metal' (which is of course copper).

So if any of you guys have a better eye got this than me, what can you see? :D

A lot of the Pushing metals seem to be facing downwards, while a lot of the pulling metals face upwards. There are a few discrepancies sure, but there may be something to it.

Maybe the placements/directions of the spikes compared to the arcs has something to do w/ the pulses of each metal or some physical representation of how it interacts w/ the body.

I do see now that Tin/Pewter and Nicrosil/Chromium are the only ones that have a double arc ring thingy. Tin, Pewter and Nicrosil all have something to do w/ enhancing (Or "doubling up") attributes, while Chromium is kind of the odd ball taking away metal reserves. Again a little flawed, but it may be something.

Maybe the placements/directions of the spikes compared to the arcs has ...

I do see now that Tin/Pewter and Nicrosil/Chromium are the only ones that have a double arc ring thingy. Tin, Pewter and Nicrosil all have something to do w/ enhancing (Or "doubling up") attributes, while Chromium is kind of the odd ball taking away metal reserves. Again a little flawed, but it may be something.