Theory on who can burn Atium

Clowd

So I do not know if this has been discussed at all, but here's a theory I have about Atium. This is my first time trying to come up with a theory, and I'm finding it difficult to type out something that feels slightly intuitive.

Theory: "Any Misting can burn Atium. There is no such thing as an Atium Misting"

I came to this conclusion because the events at the end of HoA do not make sense to me in light of the full Table of Allomantic Metals. At the end of HoA, they give as many allomantic metals as possible to each member of Elend's army that fell to the mist sickness, which was 16% of his army. It was also determined that each approximately 1% was a Misting of a different metal. They didn't know about Chromium or Bendalloy, but they knew about Atium and Malatium, which they erroneously thought were one of the 16 metals. So if Atium is not one of the base 16 metals, and the mist sickness only created Mistings of the base 16 metals, then Atium could not possibly be one of those metals. Therefore, there could not be such a thing as an Atium Misting.

However, Demoux, Yomen, and about 280 other soldiers in Elend's Army, were shown to be able to burn Atium in HoA. They had all suffered from Mist Sickness (I forget about Yomen though, I think it was beat out of him). Given this, it seems that any Misting can burn Atium.

Thoughts? I hope I wrote this through clearly, it's my first time trying to put things like this into words. If this has already been discussed, please feel free to point me to that thread and close this one.

I am reasonably certain that if an advantage as strong as Atium were available to everyone, people would have learned this in the intervening 1,000 years.