[OB] Odium influencing the Radiants

Smokeform

I’m still learning how to write theories so bear with me. I believe that Odium was attempting to stop the radiants by influencing people in their lives. When I was reading about the backstories of Shallan and Kaladin I became slightly suspicious. I saw that Dalinar’s life was hugely effected by the shards. Odium was actually preparing him to be his champion by making him into a Thrill addict. If Odium was influencing with one life why wouldn’t he do the same to potential Radiants. 

Kaladin had a relatively happy if a little lonely childhood until Roshone showed up.  Roshone was horrible to Kaladin’s family but became even worse when his son died. What ruled his life, hatred or in other words Odium. Roshone tried to take away Tien, the little brother Kaladin was trying to protect. Notice how Kaladin’s mother said that Roshone had been better since Kaladin had gone. Later in the army Kaladin’s doing great and is right on track to become a Windrunner. He saves Amaram’s life and kills a shardbearer but Amaram rewards him with the deaths of his friends and a slave brand. This sent Kaladin in a destructive spiral and paused his progression as a Proto radiant. In Oathbringer we find out that Amaram has been influenced by Odium. 

We don’t know a whole lot of Shallan’s past before she killed her mother and subsequently killed Pattern. We do know that her father cared about her a great deal and was once a kind person. However, her father also destroyed their family, keeping Shallan from ever reuniting with Pattern. Shallan often discribes the anger that she sees in her father and observes it almost seems to control him. I believe that Odium was influencing him in an attempt to destroy Shallan. 

I don’t have flashbacks books from the other Radiants so I don’t know if Odium was doing the same to them.