Mistborn physics anyone? My theory on Iron and Steel Allomancy.

Jofwu

SEE POST BELOW < click here!

I've rejected this original theory, but I'm leaving it here for reference! The original post is below the line. :)

As an engineer, I've daydreamed about the physics of Iron Pulls and Steel Pushes a fair bit. There's some old threads, but they're pretty dead. And I don't think they provide very satisfying reads. There's a few problems I have and I'm curious what other people think. Yes, I realize that at some point we have to step back and say "it's magic, because obviously the world doesn't work this way". But humor me. Surely there's some other nerds out there like myself who think about these things. :)

I guess I should note that this topic may contain spoilers for all Mistborn books so far. (I made a Stormlight comment at one point, but it's not a spoiler in my book.)

The Basics

So let's talk about Allomantic force. It's usually assumed to be a body force (like gravity), because there's never any indication (that I can remember) of a point force inside your body (which would be weird) or a surface pressure and because the accelerations involved would seemingly give severe whiplash otherwise. Most people assume that it follows the inverse square law (also like gravity) because effectiveness obviously decreases with distance and that's a logical assumption. Lastly, there's some level of Allomantic Strength involved to account for [1] your inherent abilities, [2] your current burn rate or something like that (to account for flaring, Duralumin, etc.?), [3] the desired strength of the force (though this may be subtlety accounted for in 2?), and [4] the difficulty of Pushing/Pulling some object (as it's hard to push on something Invested, like a metalmind, a spike, or metal inside a person).