Uses For Copper Feruchemy

Slowswift

So copper feruchemy seems largely useless. When you store memories, you basically forget them. When tapping, they decay.

I'm sure there'd be plenty of uses if you thought hard enough. For example, that really dumb thing you did five years ago? Dump the memory in a coppermind and chuck it in a river.

I'll post some more when I can get to a real computer.

EDIT: Clarification! Yay!

Edited by Slowswift

having memories that you can access sharply at any time and never forget while they are stored is far from useless, even if the modern era of portable electronic memories. I'd definitelly want to store my university exams there; I have forgotten 90% of the stuff anyway, may as well make sure that I can remember it when I need it. since I am a boring normal human, instead, if I need something I studied in an exam I will have to fish out the books and notes about it from my stash of university books and study it again to remember it. How about a vacation, a nice time, some valuable experience? memory fades anyway, you may as well store the memory of the thing in a coppermind while only keeping in your head the memory that you actually did the thing. then, when you want to remember, it will be fresh.

Also the "forget" ooption is pretty useful; whenever i reread a book, I could dump all the content of it into a coppermind and it will be as new.

The use you suggest, dumping your mistakes to forget them, is actually a pretty stupid use of copper feruchemy. if you forget you did something stupid and regretted it, you'll do it again. also, once you start to do it regularly, you may start to wonder who you really are and if the guy you remember being is really you or just an idealized version you concocted to satisfy your ego. better if you remember. although you can forget just enough to be more comfortable with the memory.

It's as useless as a portable hard drive is useless; i.e. not in the slightest.