Queston/Theory: Corruption of Text [Mistborn Spoilers]

Halabalabash

So perhaps this topic has been brought up before, but I'm pretty new to the game and I haven't seen it, so I'm bringing it up myself!

We know that in Mistborn, Ruin was able to subtly change text so that it's meaning changed over time, requiring text to be written on metal to be preserved. Could a similar thing have happened/be happening on Roshar, only with Odium doing the tampering? This quote from one of Brandon's signings is what caused me to think about this:

"They do say that--well let's just say that some books exist in translation over the centuries with the primary text having been lost, or things like this." (This was in regards to the in-text book Way of Kings and its meaning over time).

Will writing on metal become a necessity in the future? Could this have anything to do with the origins of burning glyphs?

As a more side question, would it be possible to soulcast something into atium? My first thought was no because atium had to do with the power of Ruin, but thought I would ask about it because that could raise some interesting possibilities when worlds start to collide.

The requested edits have been made. :)

Edited by Halabalabash

Haha good theory, I believe that all the writings that were tampered with or changed had to do with the church altering everything to do with the Knights Radiant. However, I think Odium has much more control than Ruin ever did having to fight with Preservence; so it is a possibility.

P.s Atium is the metallic form of Ruin :)(which is why he's trying to find it so badly)

Edited by Vasteel

I think it's a possibility that Odium is altering text, but I don't think he is. It would rip off Mistborn a little, and I think Odium was bound by Honor to be incapable of directly affecting the world, or something along those lines. Preservation was able to put Ruin in stasis, so Honor should be able to force Odium to obey a promise or something.