Mistborn: The Inquisition

Chaos

• 2 weeks later...

It largely depends on how well and fast you can write. And how good you are at creating a character or characters and then making them interesting (aka giving them good conflicts and character arcs). Personally, I find them to be pretty easy but I've had some experience with writing in general. If you consider yourself a strong writer or want experience to help you with your writing, I'd suggest giving it a try.

I've considered joining this but right now I don't feel like I can make the commitment. I'd really like to because I feel I've produced some of my best writing in text-based RPGs, but college is going to be keeping me busy while I get used to classes and tie up some beginning of the year things.

Well, LadyArianna, seeing as how you type in complete sentences with actual capitalization and punctuation, you're definitely on the right track. And no, I'm not being facetious. You'd be surprised at the things I've seen in the wide world of forum RPing.

Like Zayde said, a large part of it is your characterization and whether or not you can write on demand. Of course, this is an acquired skill; I've actually used forum RP as a training exercise to practice writing when I wouldn't normally feel like it.

If you're not sure where to go or what to do, I'd recommend heading over to the boards and looking around. You can scan character biographies, read threads, etc. If you decide you'd like to try and participate and aren't sure where to go, feel free to hit me up via PM or IM for a character brainstorming session. I know writing a character for the first time can be daunting, but don't worry. Once you get started, it's actually quite fun (and, in my case, addicting XD).

I haven't registered yet because I'm kind of confused.  Are you supposed to name the account after your character?  But you can have multiple characters?  And on the application form there's a part labelled:

Player Information:

Handle: