New to forum, long time fan

StarrFall

Hi there folks!  I'm an unrepentant Cosmere junkie and I hope I'm in the right place... 

I've completely caught up on the Cosmere materials, excepting White Sands (currently in progress, thankfully vol 2 is out now too) and some of the unreleased stuff Sanderson made available on his site, but I'm struggling to get someone in my immediate vicinity to catch up so that I can talk with them about all of this awesomeness without using a mental filter.  I am happy to report I have 2 people well on their way, but they have a lot of pages to get through yet and I'm impatient.  So...

I have always read fantasy predominately because I prefer my leisure reading to provide an escape.  That said, I'm a system designer who likes to understand how things work and I've always disliked how many of these stories would just take the magic system's existence for granted without ever satisfactorily delving into the mechanics surrounding them; magic just is and are and there are words/objects/feelings/genetics/what-have-you that allow characters to access them.  This is, in my opinion, where Sanderson becomes the greatest fantasy writer of all time; he has built not just a world but an entire dynamic universe, complete with its' own unique mechanics that are full of beautiful nuance and which make logical sense in the way they are arranged and presented, even as they evolve.  The evolution of powers on Ladrian, the Warbreaker/Oathbringer crossover (speaking of, WoK progressing way faster than I expected which makes me think that story won't be as simple as I originally thought (awesome!)), Threnodites in the Cognitive Realm (???), all the various crap happening on Sel...  I have questions, so many questions...

I can't even imagine how much front work would have to go into making all of these stories fit together cohesively, but it makes the Marvel universe look like child's play by comparison.