Theory: Stormlight Vessels in Surgebinding

Odium's_Shard

Ok, this theory is about vessels of Stormlight during Surgebinding and why it matters.

Thanks to: Telcontar, Goradel's Nephew, ReaderAt2046

Firstly, my ideas about the entire 'Gem determines Effect' theory Telcontar and Goradel's Nephew were running (in which they were suggesting that a gem determines the effect in Windrunning too, and that a sapphire would be needed for Kaladin to Surgebind) , before Reader's helpful interjection (that pointed out that Kaladin uses a diverse range of different gems to Surgebind).

As Reader pointed out, it doesn't seem to matter what Gem you use so long as it is filled with Stormlight. This leads me to believe that Brandon, when making Shallan use a Garnet to produce Blood in her first Soulcasting scene, may just be setting up false 'Chekhov's guns'. It has been known. Look up the definition if you aren't familiar with the technique (which as a writer, I am, and take for granted that other people should...). But onto my theory about the use of Stormlight in a gem:

Kaladin is said to 'infuse' himself with the Stormlight from a gem by 'inhaling' (may be something to do with Body Focus or Order 1, Inhalation). Here, it seems any vessel can be used for the Gem -> Kaladin-infused-with-Stormlight stage. Here's where it gets sort of complicated (for me to explain, I'd hope you understand).

Kaladin is the vessel used in the particular sort of Surgebinding in which he engages (presumably 'windrunning').