Feedback Requested

Adamir

Requesting feedback for an interlude for a larger work; I've started out my novel by plotting out the general structure, then deciding to write the interludes before the main chapters to give myself clear points to place key events, directly before said interludes. I've just finished the first one, but I'm not sure about the quality; feel free to tear it to shreds with criticism, as should have been done with quite a few other authors before they got their works out. Remember, don't be critical and you may be unleashing another Eye of Argon on the world...

---

The only thing that can contrast the calm before a battle is the celebrations that come after. The nine hundred or so men brought with House Estwenth were gathered in a narrow valley just inside the Yadwar border, singing, drinking, breaking discipline. Before a battle, this lack of discipline would have terrified me. Now, it just frustrated me.

I was an officer and heir to House Curnow, and General Tobias saddled my squad with guard duty. Thirty of the savages were bound and tied to stakes at the edge of the encampment, watched over by four dozen men, forbidden from partaking in the celebrations. Here I was, forced to listen to lesser men celebrate while I had to remain vigilant.

And what were the chances of a rescue? The Yadwar savages had been thoroughly broken at the Nine Valleys, their armies crushed by the Eastern Houses' united military. And the Estwenth encampment was directly in the center of the army; any rescuers would have to fight their way through fifteen thousand men to reach us.

'Don't look so grim, Adrik,' Castor said, tapping me on the shoulder. 'We won. Yadwar driven back, thirty of their finest generals ready to be tried, sentenced and executed. Crack a smile!'

I turned to look at him. 'Lesser men are celebrating up there, and we are left down here. If Father knew of this...'