A possible connection between Hoid and Adolnasium

Dagorian

This is my first time writing here so please correct me if this has already been discussed.

After reading around a bit here I thought that while Hoid isn't a shardholder it doesen't mean he is not connected to Adolnasium.

What if while Adolnasium was broken into 16 shards there were an 17th piece, not a shard but a purpose or something similair. And it's goal is to somehow keep balance, not neceserily through putting it together just to make sure that none of the shards take total domition/destroy all the other shards.

To my knowledge, we have no idea what the group called the Seventeenth Shard has for goals. (Well, other than wanting to catch up with Hoid.) Any speculation about their purpose is, at the moment, just that: speculation.

And it was either strongly suggested our outright stated that Hoid was around when Adonalsium shattered. "Around", though, hasn't been clarified. That is, does "around" mean "in physical proximity of Adonalsium" or just "alive at the time of the shattering"?

I'm sure he has some kind of connection to Adonalsium, but I don't know what. Was he a friend of Adie and is now trying to exact revenge? Was he the reason for the shattering? Was he actually one of the aspects of Adonalsium that came into its own life and its own existence after the shattering? We don't know. We know Hoid was around, but that's pretty much it. (I even seem to recall reading somewhere that "Hoid" is just a title, of sorts, that can be taken on sequentially by different people. Kind of like the Dread Pirate Roberts.)

It's the mysteries like these that really make me look forward to new stories in the cosmere. :)

To my knowledge, we have no idea what the group called the Seventeenth Shard has for goals. (Well, other than wanting to catch up with Hoid.) Any speculation about their purpose is, at the moment, just that: speculation.