World Hopping Characters

This is my first time posting to 17th Shard, but I read on here how Brandon said that there are other characters besides Hoid and the three we saw in WoK that were chasing him, and he made it more obvious in WoK than in any other book. So my theory is this, is Tonk Fah posing as Shallan's brother? We didn't see him in Warbreaker after Denth died, and he displays the smae cruel and silly ways as he tortures animals in the Interlude in which he is the viewpoint characters, just a thought.

My initial instinct says no. First, I just found Nan Balat's interlude again and he says he doesn't want to kill people, only small animals. (Remember that Parlin was the unfortunate victim of Tonk Fah.) Secondly, Brandon says more than once — I think in the Warbreaker annotations — that Tonk Fah is basically a completely evil/destructive waste of flesh. Even for someone who likes to torture small animals, Nan Balat seems gentler than that. The personalities don't seem to match up. So, at least at the time the interlude takes place, I don't think Tonk Fah is pretending to be Nan Balat or vice versa. I'm also not sure if the timelines of the two books line up; my personal notes say there are several hundred years between Warbreaker and WoK, but the wiki's down so I can't check.

Now, if Nan Balat has been known to disappear for months at a time (I don't think Shallan mentions any such thing, but I'd have to reread all of WoK to be sure), it might be a theory worth investigating some more.

We had Nan Balat's PoV, and he views the entire family as being broken by their father's abuse, except for Shallan. It's probably why he tortures animals, although he doesn't say it outright. But he definitely grew up with Shallan, and had the same father.