[OB] Felt

OldFilthyCasual

This is my first time starting a thread, and I'm in a rush before leaving for work. My apologies if the title/tagging is improper. Also I have no idea how to do spoiler inserts.

I have taken to reading BS novels twice upon release. Once at warp speed, as I MUST have the new story development as soon as possible. A second time much more slowly, digging for tiny details. I was going through the Dalinar flashbacks looking for missed details and something stood out that I haven't seen mentioned here yet. If I simply missed the thread my apologies.

Chapter 114 "The Cost"

Dalinar describes Felt as being Shin in appearance, that he doesn't have epicanthic folds but instead posseses, "Long, drooping mustaches and pale skin."

While Dalinar and Felt are discussing his pending visit to the NW, Felt admits she did not visit him, claiming

"Well, as best I could figure, she doesn't like foreigners"

"I might have trouble too."

"Your a little less foreign, sir"

On one hand, this could simply be a geographical observation on the part of Felt and I'm reading into to detail that doesn't exist. On the other hand, Brandon wrote this. So my thoughts are as follows.

If the Shin are the trueblood descendants of the original humans that arrived on Roshar with their god Odium, perhaps the NW still holds a grudge against them for the invasion of her world? The other ethnic groups of Roshar have all mingled with the local populace on some level. The Horneaters / Herdazians are WoB'd to be part listener, perhaps there is some level of interbreeding for the Alethi far enough back to make them Rosharan enough for the NW to accept them when she would deny a boon to a pureblood Shin.