Spanreed Limitations

ccstat

Okay, so here is the thought experiment:

Shallan and Jasnah have paired spanreeds. Shallan is sitting in one place, and Jasnah can Elsecall to anywhere on Roshar before turning on her spanreed. Where on the continent can she go and still have the spanreeds write to each other?

The main question I'm asking here is how the relative rotational velocity of the planet at different locations will affect spanreed function. I find it most likely that the surge powering spanreeds' shared momentum operates spiritually in a way perceived to users as "moving relative to the ground under my feet." But what if it is actually based on absolute position in space? I'm a biologist but I enjoy physics, especially in the vein of XKCD's what-if articles. So here's my analysis. Did I miss anything important?

Short answer: Position-in-space referencing doesn't work at all. Planets are big and fast.

Spoilering for length:

Groundwork and assumptions:

• There is a distance limitation mentioned in the books, but clearly direct communication is possible between Kharbranth and both the Shattered Plains and the Davar home, to use only WoK instances. More appear in WoR. 
  • Spanreeds don't work on boats. I presume this is because the movement of the boat dominates over any writing a passenger might attempt. (I turn on my receiving spanreed and it starts bobbing with the waves or moving through the house at several knots.)
  • Roshar's day is about 19.3 earth-hours long, so it is spinning faster. But, it is also less massive and (presumably) smaller, so the linear velocity of Roshar's surface is probably comparable to Earth.
  • The equator moves faster than the poles. Specifically, the speed of a point on the surface of Earth can be calculated in m/s as v=459*cos(latitude).