The Artist's Trash Heap

WrathofaShardKitten

For all of the art you hate, including visual arts, writing, poetry, music, and so on.

Because perfectionism isn't everything, so post it anyways.

---

I don't know about you, but I am not an artist. I would like to be an artist. However, whenever I try to start, I get set upon by the vicious harpies of perfectionism and self doubt. I can't see the value in what I've done. To me, it looks more or less like trash. Hence the title. And, since all that I seem to be turning out is trash, I quickly get discouraged, and, well. . . quit. I'll actually shred, delete, erase, or otherwise destroy whatever it was that I've made, because it's not. . . good enough.

Which is dumb. Failure isn't something to be ashamed of, it's not the end of the story, it's a fundamental concept of life and a way to measure our improvement. This thread, as stated above, is for people to post all the art they hate. It's for the stuff you'd throw away because it isn't good enough and there's no place for it. This thread is a reminder that falling short is, or at least should be, both expected and supported, because it means that you're making progress. What's the most important step someone can take? I'll give you a hint. It's not the perfect one.

All too often, those interested in the arts give up because they aren't "naturally gifted." This thread is to encourage them to keep on going, because it might not be perfect, but you're doing it. You're creating!

Even those who have been creating for a long time can fall into this chasm. People can make things that just don't turn out right. Or maybe the art is fine, but suddenly imposter syndrome is kicking in and you feel like nothing you make could ever compare.

---

I have a tendency to ramble a lot, as you can likely see. I also don't know how to create threads, so if anyone has any advice that would be appreciated.