another theory that I'm to dumb to expand on

Vailadin

so in stormlight we have an interlude where the dude measures the flamespren and it stays the height measured. were do we see this rule in the real world? quantum physics. when an electron is observed it collapses from a wavelength into a fixed point. anyone out there clever enough to expand on that?

Spoiler

Questioner
So, there's a line in Elantris that has always fascinated me. Raoden is reading really old books, and he says that some of these books mention words such as "frequency" and "pulse length." I'm a physics major, this reminds me a lot of quantum physics.

Brandon Sanderson
Yes, it does!

Questioner
So, my question is, how much is quantum physics a part of the magic in the cosmere?

Brandon Sanderson
Here's the thing. I don't know quantum physics well enough. That's a rabbit hole; I am an armchair scientist, I do not have a degree in physics. And so, while I really like it, I build it in... When I'm doing this, what I usually do is I build in cosmere versions, so I can't be held accountable to getting some little thing wrong. So, yes, quantum physics is important. But, in some ways, some of the things in the cosmere are more like the pop science version of quantum physics, what everyone thinks quantum physics is but really isn't, are actually some of the things in the cosmere. The fun, awesome version of quantum physics. I try to make some of it as accurate as I can, not having a physics degree. But I have to be aware that... I am not writing science fiction, I'm writing fantasy, so there will be things that you're like, "That's not quite right," but it works in the cosmere.

Questioner
Anywhere I should keep my eye out for more stuff like that.

Brandon Sanderson