Father Tanner

Question

My understanding is that the spiritual realm is a source of perpetual energy that decreases the entropy of the physical realm through certain investitures (ie. Stormlight) and shards. Do the laws of entropy apply to the spiritual realm? I studied chemical engineering in college so conservation of energy is something that i have thought a lot about while reading cosmere books. Is it possible for the energy of the spiritual realm to reach equilibrium with that of the physical realm? I guess my question boils down to: is there a finite amount of energy in the spiritual realm, or does it somehow break the laws of thermodynamics by constantly adding energy to the physical realm from an infinite source?

Edited by Father Tanner

6 answers to this question

38 minutes ago, Frustration said:

Investiture follows some form of the laws of thermodynamics

This is mostly true, but its complicated by the fact that we have reasons to believe that Shards don't necessarily have to deal with entropy, but rather, any investiture they expend will eventually return to them in a usable form. There is no inaccessible "energy" for Shards. That throws things off a bit, but otherwise yeah, Frustration is right.

Also, Disclaimer: I could be completely wrong about that, its not been specifically addressed and I'm making this claim based on a few inferences. If Sanderson eventually says that there is investiture completely (rather than temporarily) inaccessible to Shards, then I am wrong.

5 hours ago, HSuperLee said:

This is mostly true, but its complicated by the fact that we have reasons to believe that Shards don't necessarily have to deal with entropy, but rather, any investiture they expend will eventually return to them in a usable form. There is no inaccessible "energy" for Shards. That throws things off a bit, but otherwise yeah, Frustration is right.