Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sniperfrog

04/19/2021 - SniperFrog - The Trials Prologue version 2 - (2714)(V,G,L)

13 posts in this topic

So I have been workshopping this for a couple months now. I needed a prologue that set the stakes for my characters while also making sense with the rest of  the timeline. This is basically split into three parts. I have been trying to get these ironed out, but I know there are still a few wrinkles here and there. 

My previous prologue was not very good. I wanted to have a look at the events leading up to the end of the Starfalls, but the more I worked on the story, the less it mattered to the plot. So I took a couple of flashbacks and rewrote them to be the prologue. Hopefully this helps establish who my characters are and their motivations in the rest of the story. 

The part titled The Last Day is basically a stand alone passage that establishes some events that are delved into a bit later. I felt like this would fit in the beginning to give readers a bit of something to look forward to. It is meant to be a little bit on the cryptic side. 

I am mostly looking for feedback on whether these events set up the motivations of the characters from my previous submissions in a believable way. Particularly the scene in the Guild Hall, as this basically explains the reasons for P and C to be hunting the Knights in the first place. Also, let me know how the dialogue feels in this scene. I feel like it could still use some touching up in areas.