Hey

HoidByOwnPetard

I'm a professor and writer who researches, among other things, writing. I was introduced to Sanderson and China Mieville around the same time after presenting some research on science fiction authors (it was not super interesting; it focused on investigating the distribution of words per sentence but didn't reveal much aside from a fun way to rewrite your own work). After initially resisting the fantasy, I gave in.

I'm glad I did! I'm now caught up with almost everything (halfway through Rhythm of War) and I'm going back through it all looking for connections and hints to the larger Cosmere. Looking forward to seeing what everyone's found!

4 hours ago, HoidByOwnPetard said:

I'm a professor and writer who researches, among other things, writing. I was introduced to Sanderson and China Mieville around the same time after presenting some research on science fiction authors (it was not super interesting; it focused on investigating the distribution of words per sentence but didn't reveal much aside from a fun way to rewrite your own work). After initially resisting the fantasy, I gave in.

I'm glad I did! I'm now caught up with almost everything (halfway through Rhythm of War) and I'm going back through it all looking for connections and hints to the larger Cosmere. Looking forward to seeing what everyone's found!

Hello, welcome to the Shard! Hope you have a great time here.

How many Sanderson books have you read so far? Favorite/least favorite book? Character?

Oh, I don't think we'll ever uncover the true formula to what makes true talent. Practice and care are big things but there are plenty of writers who care about their craft and have thousands of hours of writing under their belt but still don't have the Sanderson magic.