2.1.2021 - C_Vallion - Price of Peace: Chapter 1B and 2 - 4983 Words

C_Vallion

Hello, All!

Here are Chapter 1 (Part B, Revision 2) and Chapter 2 of my epic fantasy, Price of Peace. No content tags for these chapters.  If anyone is super excited to read the whole of Chapter 1 or wants to skim the first part without bothering with any sort of critique on it, let me know and I can send it over.

All input is still good input, especially since you guys seem to be far better at pointing out useful things than I am at knowing what to ask about. I have a feeling that the pacing for Chapters 1-6 or so needs some work, but I’m not good at calling out the specific things that aren’t working.

To repeat a question from last week, though, is there a better sense of who Is- is and what her goals are? Or does it still feel rather directionless? I think this version does better at it, but I still don’t have a good sense of how it comes across to the reader.

It’s still quite possible (quite likely, really) that this just isn’t the best starting point for Chapter 1, but I’ll continue from this point for now until you guys have read through a few more chapters.

Thanks so much for your help and patience in re-reading some of the same things a few times.  Hopefully I won’t need to do that often going forward (for all of our sakes).

Thanks for reading!

Overall

Unfortately, I think this still suffers from most of the same issues (I has better direction, but far too late, and not enough of it). There's too much political chat and thought, not enough inciting incident, plot movement, and character buy-in. It's definitely better, and you're making progress, but at this stage I'd love to mark up the documents and just delete several pages in a row every time a character gets into their head to tell us about how the monarchy works.