12.7.20- ginger_reckoning-ALITC: character spotlight (ch 10+12) (V, G?) 4800 words

ginger_reckoning

Heya, I stopped reading previously because of pressure of like and the struggles that I was having getting engaged with the character and the story. But, I'm glad to come back and see what's what. Also, interesting to read your comments in the email (Don't worry about email length, say what you need/want to say!) about seeing the issues and how you might tackle them :) 

Chapter 10

(page 1)

- "Just what she lived for" - I find this a bit contradictory with the opening line about her 'hating' waking up. It undermines her motivation, I think. Essentially, Ce is an engineer, or maybe a designer. Clearly, she is very committed to and invested in her task, the creation of this armour. As a result, (and as a fellow engineer, I empathise with her commitment to the project) I would expect her to hate going to sleep, but to love waking ups, because she can get back to her project, bright-eyed and alert.

- "several stories storeys above the main floor"

- "like small fishes" - good image.

(page 2)

- "told you to do" - Huh, I thought Ce was leading the project. Slightly surprised by this.

- I like the banter between the sisters. The dialogue is completely convincing, IMO. I like the pacing too. I'm skipping along through the scene, and would be reading at a good pace if not stopping to critique.

- "it was the reason she had stopped" - Stopped what?