Rithmatist: The Game

smartycope

I'm a bit of a programmer, and I was relistening to the Rithmatist when I realized I could program the magic system! (My original idea was to create the magic system from Elantris, but with the Rithmatist it's more of a game (i.e. duels), and way easier to program)

It's far from finished, but I have a basic framework set up and it's moving smoothly. The code is currently on a private repo on github (I wanted to keep it private for now because I feel like I could run afoul of copyright law somehow), but if anyone wants to help me, email me and I can let you in!

On 10/10/2020 at 1:01 PM, smartycope said:

I'm a bit of a programmer, and I was relistening to the Rithmatist when I realized I could program the magic system! (My original idea was to create the magic system from Elantris, but with the Rithmatist it's more of a game (i.e. duels), and way easier to program)

It's far from finished, but I have a basic framework set up and it's moving smoothly. The code is currently on a private repo on github (I wanted to keep it private for now because I feel like I could run afoul of copyright law somehow), but if anyone wants to help me, email me and I can let you in!

I volunteer myself up, for playtesting... :P 

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...

The strength of a segment of LoW in the book is based on its curvature, which could be calculated with a bit of calculus to get a different strength value for every point in the LoW. The real problem will be chalklings. How will you make them work? The glyphs for controlling them seem like they'd be around as complex to implement as the other lines, but how would the game judge how good the chalkling drawings are?

Honestly, I had some vague concept of taking a few points before and after a given point and getting their slope, but using calculus makes way more sense.