Hello

Berrymand71

Hello. My name is Daniel and I'm an addict.

"Hello Daniel"

I'm addicted to World Building. I have been an addict since the late 70s when I discovered D&D but there were no pre-built worlds or modules back then. I built my own. Not just a small thing but a continent drawn out on a 4x8 foot sheet of plywood in 1 inch hexes. Then I detailed each hex like a module. Then I detailed each location and wrote stories about the locations and characters. Then I joined the Navy and while I was gone, a house for took it all. 

Since then I've done a number of projects but they never take over my life like that first one. I'm mostly recovered.

I also read a lot, which brings me here. I fall in love with books which have, you guessed it; extensively developed worlds, cultures and magic systems. 

I'm also a 20 year Navy veteran, married with two grown daughters and my first grandkid. 

Hello and Welcome to the Shard!

1 hour ago, Berrymand71 said:

I also read a lot, which brings me here. I fall in love with books which have, you guessed it; extensively developed worlds, cultures and magic systems. 

Let me guess, your favorite Sanderson-made book series is the SA?

Who's your favorite Sanderson character?

Welcome to the shard! I love worldbuilding too especially since it is so rare in fantasy to find a world other than our medieval era with horses and swords and castles and everyone’s favourite fae people. 
Brandon is amongst few who do something different 

Which books of his have you read? And which world you loved the most? 

Edited by The Traveller

Welcome, welcome!! Lmao that first part got me :lol:

"Hello Daniel"

I- wow. See I don't even really know what to respond to this. The first thing is just like "Oh my you did WHAT???" That is CRAZY! The scale and size of that for each 1 inch hex with an entire continent mapped. Dang, that is impressive. You don't happen to be kinda patient now do you? :P