Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JWerner

Reading Excuses—9/21/20—JWerner—The Unnamed v.2—5028 words—V, G

12 posts in this topic

Quick run down:

Same story as last week, but with feedback edits. Most are focused around the ending.

For those who haven't read it yet, be forewarned: the story contains a suicide.

Right, if you haven't read it yet, I hope you enjoy it. If you have, I hope you find it improved. 

Hello, I was late to the party for this one so I read last week's before realizing there was a revised version for this week :-) 

Much improved from the the previous draft. Many of the foggy parts that I had planned to comment on were fixed. 

Some of the descriptions were really beautiful, weather the subject was grotesque or otherwise. I felt a strong western gothic vibe with some horror elements thrown in. 

I should mention that I am not typically a fantasy genre reader so many of the accepted conventions and tropes are lost on me. I am also a nurse who works primarily with kids so due to that bias, some parts of this story hit me the wrong way.

The element of child sacrifice really turned me off of the other two main characters from the start. It seemed apparent from the first 'story' around the fire that this is what was comming, and the reference to many other lost children seemed to suport that these two adults are repeatedly and knowingly bringing children to their deaths. In the second draft, being shown the sacrifice re-doubled this feeling. I had zero sympathy when D and O died for this reason. I also struggle with why S is going along with this or would be excited to 'see dragons' unless she was coerced or being lied to. 

This may be just my issue, and has nothing to do with the quality of the story telling. Just a personal sore spot. Feel free to ignor. 

A few line by line notes: