Hello there, 17th Shard!

Clarity-Art

Hello there, 17th Shard! The name's Clarity-Art, or just Clarity. I've been a lurker on these forums since last year, and only now did I decide to work up the nerve to make an account here. I also have a Reddit account and regularly lurk on the Cosmere, Stormlight, and other fantasy and science fiction subreddits. Along with all of the Cosmere (minus Edgedancer, which I started recently), I've also knocked out ASOIAF, The Lies of Locke Lamora, Red Rising, Dune, The Name of the Wind, and numerous other books that I can barely remember. I discovered the Cosmere last February when I first picked up Mistborn Era 1, and ever since then, I've been rolling right through the rest of the Cosmere works. I'm a Cosmere fan artist, but I haven't quite found the guts to post my art over on Reddit yet, so it's all stuck on my Instagram account. Praise be to botanicaxu, jazzykandra, and Felcandy for inspiring me to start making fan art. Anyways, nice to meet you all, and I can't wait to begin my little journey here! 

15 minutes ago, R J said:

Welcome aboard! All solid choices, those books, except the Gentlemen Bastards, the next two books are a disappointment, and much like George R R Martin and Patrick Rothfuss, he too is stuck.

I actually enjoyed Red Seas Under Red Skies enough to reread it a few times, mostly as inspiration for a pirate-related subplot in one of my WIP novels. But I agree with you on Republic of Thieves: it was a prolonged and unsatisfying novel that somehow managed to turn every character on their heads. I heard that Lynch is in editing phases for the fourth book in the Gentlemen Bastards sequences, but not worth getting my hopes up. At least I have RoW on the horizon!

19 minutes ago, Invocation said:

Welcome to the Shard! Who's your favorite cosmere character? Also, bonus question: what's your favorite magic system of the cosmere?