35 members have voted

1. 1. How long have you been playing?

• 0-1 years
    • 1-2 years
    • 3-5 years
    • 5-7 years
    • 7-10 years
    • 10+ years

I've been playing for seven years now, and I do mostly classical (although I've been branching into jazz recently -- having lots of fun). I compose too, and am just finishing up a piece. Funnily enough, I planned my next one to be a sort of collection of motifs for certain characters in SA.

My favorite period is Romantic for its drama and grandiose, and my favorite composer is Tchaikovsky for his long and graceful phrases. My favorite piece by him is April (Snowdrop), although my favorite pieces overall are Rachmaninoff's preludes in G major and g minor. Funny how that works out.

Currently playing: Debussy Reverie, Chopin Grande Valse Brillante, and Kabalevsky Concerto Op. 50. No. 3 in D major.

What genres do you guys specialize in? What are you working on? What are your favorite composers, time periods, pieces, etc? This is going to be fun!

Edited by PiedPeterPiper

So, it's kinda similar, because my two favorite kinds of pieces to play are really fast crazy ones and also really calm pretty ones- basically opposites. It's weird how that happened.

I am reeeeally enjoying the Piano Guys book I got- it's the one for Limitless, their newest album. I've been playing through some of the easier sight-readable ones and have really enjoyed their music- specifically All of Me and Waterfall, those are my two favorites.

I LOATHE scales. Who doesn't, honestly :P I also don't really love Bach.

9 hours ago, Matrim's Dice said:

So, it's kinda similar, because my two favorite kinds of pieces to play are really fast crazy ones and also really calm pretty ones- basically opposites. It's weird how that happened.

This^^^^^^^