Piano Player's Guild    12 members have voted

1. 1. How long have you been playing?

• 0-1 years
    • 1-2 years
    • 3-5 years
    • 5-7 years
    • 7-10 years
    • 10+ years

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

18 posts in this topic

I checked, and this wasn't a thing! It is now!

I have been playing for 8 years and 3 days now, just passed the anniversary mark, and it is seriously the greatest thing. How 'bout everyone else here? Aspiring pianists welcome!

(@Experience, @Shard of Reading, I know you play :))

I played for a few years a long time ago, but then I quit. Would that be 1-2 in the quiz? 

5 minutes ago, AonEne said:

I played for a few years a long time ago, but then I quit. Would that be 1-2 in the quiz? 

How ever long you did before you quit, I guess :P 

Posted (edited)

I've been playing for seven years now, and I do mostly classical (although I've been branching into jazz recently -- having lots of fun). I compose too, and am just finishing up a piece. Funnily enough, I planned my next one to be a sort of collection of motifs for certain characters in SA.

My favorite period is Romantic for its drama and grandiose, and my favorite composer is Tchaikovsky for his long and graceful phrases. My favorite piece by him is April (Snowdrop), although my favorite pieces overall are Rachmaninoff's preludes in G major and g minor. Funny how that works out.

Currently playing: Debussy Reverie, Chopin Grande Valse Brillante, and Kabalevsky Concerto Op. 50. No. 3 in D major.

What genres do you guys specialize in? What are you working on? What are your favorite composers, time periods, pieces, etc? This is going to be fun!

Edited by PiedPeterPiper

So, it's kinda similar, because my two favorite kinds of pieces to play are really fast crazy ones and also really calm pretty ones- basically opposites. It's weird how that happened.